Obagi Reviews

Top 3

  • 100
  • 75
  • 50
  • 25

Obagi is a clinical skin care line founded in 1988. Obagi products are used by skin care professionals to treat a variety of skin problems. The Nu Derm system was their first product on the market and it claims to transform cellular functions in all layers of skin. The product seems to combat all signs of aging, such as wrinkles, hyperpigmentation and scarring. There products are not available at department stores and any retailer selling online should check if it is for a genuine authorised source. They do have a list of unathorized retailers on their website so its worthwhile consulting with this if you plan and making a purchase online, The other products in the range are  Blue Peel, ELASTIderm, CLENZIderm and Rosaclearm.

And our #1 recommendation in 2017 is Advanced Derm MD. Excellent. 

Our favourite Obagi products is the Obagi Professional-C Serum and it is by far the best antioxidant we have tested so far. We are also particularly interested in the Blue Peel, but recommend this be performed by a trusted physician as it is very potent. Obagi has some interesting product videos, testimonials and a blog with some interesting articles. We recommend Obagi products to patients who have enough damage to warrant a more serious type of skin care. If you have a lot of sun damage, then we recommend Obagi. If you purely dry skin then we recommend another range.

TOPBRANDTOP 3
1ADVANCED DERM MD
2REVIVE
3LA PRAIRIE
-Obagi

Comments

  1. Irene

    I’ve been using Obagi for over 3 years now and I absolutely love it. I used to have sun spots and freckles all over my face and after only about 2 months into using it, my skin became clearer. After about 6 months, most of the sun spots and freckles disappeared. My skin is tight and I don’t even have any wrinkles on my face. People always tell me that I have flawless skin and that I look like I’m in my early 30’s when I’m actually 46 years old. I love this product and will continue to use it.

  2. shan

    I used obagi nu derm years ago and I did clear my complexion for the short term but little did I know it will remove my natural colour – they dont tell you that! Since then my face has always been pale and does not tan anymore- even if it does tan it will take a very long time in the sun. I would caution use because it is actually bleaching the skin and you do go pale which is long term basically forever!

  3. K

    I used Obaji almost 5 years ago and have noticed now that it caused my skin to be two toned! It was supposed to fix my under eye bags but instead made them worse. I feel awful about the way my face looks now, I wouldn’t recommend this product to anyone!!!!

  4. Tanya

    I started using the obagi system about a week and a half ago i am prepping my skin for a treatment of peels starting in the next week or so. I have found my skin is breaking out quite a bit but have noticed some improvements especially in my forehead acne but im still getting quite a number of blemishes else where. im just wondering how long does it take for treatment to take full effect? i just really hope it works cause its really my last hope. Decided to completely take myself of all antibiotics and try clear my skin from the outside in.

  5. Ana67

    I have been using Obagi for 5 years and would never use anything else! I am nearly 50 and am constantly mistaken for someone in their late 30’s. Go slow on the products if you have a peeling (expected!) reaction in the first few weeks/months, use mineral makeup to cover. From freckles and sun damage and acne 5 years ago, I can now feel great with no makeup. it is truly amazing but requires PATIENCE and COMMITMENT!

  6. PATRICIA PICKRON

    I HAVE BEEN USING THIS PRODUCT FOR 6 WKS NOW AND IT HAS DONE NOTHING TO MY FACE. I HAVE NOT SEEN ANY CHANGES. BOUGHT AT A DERMOTOLOGIST FOR 81.OO LESSON LEARNED.

  7. Molly

    I am 26 years old and went to my esthetician 6 months ago to improve upon my mild acne along with sun damage (following years of tanning without protection). She put me on Obagi Nu-Derm with Renova .02.

    During the first 6 weeks, my skin became extremely red and dry. Although the look wasn’t ideal, I read this was normal and to be expected. In addition to the dryness, I also noticed~100 tiny bumps appear along my chin and cheeks that had not been there before. Similar to pimples, these bumps could be popped and white gunk would come out. But unlike pimples, the bumps never came to a head on their own. Mt esthetician insisted the bumps were a result of my skin purging and recommended that I stick with the line.

    4 months in, the redness and dryness had subsided substantially. Much of the sun damage had faded or disappeared, leaving me with a more even coloration. Unfortunately, the bumps remained. It seemed that even if I popped them, they would return within a few weeks.

    My esthetician recommended a micro-laser peel and mini profractional to remove the top layers of skin, bring the clogged pores to the surface and promote healing. In the weeks following the laser treatment, she recommended that I not use Obagi because my skin would be so sensitive. As expected, my skin broke out as the clogged pores were able to come to the surface. The bumps along my cheeks almost completely diminished and the bumps on my chin decreased dramatically.

    I began using Obagi ~3 weeks after my treatment. Unfortunately, once I started using it the bumps began to return again. It’s been about a month since I returned to Obagi and I feel as though I am back tracking. The bumps cover my chin and are beginning to return to my cheeks. So today, I have chosen to end my Obagi use and move on to a more appropriate line for my skin.

    Overall did as it said by reducing my age spots/sun damage and providing me with a more even complexion. It is only because of my acne that this line is not appropriate for me. I blame my esthetician for insisting upon the continued use of a product that addressed only one aspect of my skin care needs while ignoring/worsening the other. To others suffering from acne, I would suggest looking elsewhere if you do not see improvement in the clarity of your skin within the first couple months.

  8. Ashley

    Here’s my 2 cents about what I’ve learned with these products. They are full of parabens, they have fragrance, dyes, ethanols, sulfates, glycerins, and the sunscreen has octinoxate and alcohol in it. Parabens have been linked to breast cancer, endocrine disruption and reproductive toxicity as well as developmental defects. 9 times out of 10, fragrances are in products to mask the legally hidden phthalates (endocrine disruptors, linked to birth defects, breast cancer, infertility, liver cancer etc). Dyes are made from coal tar which is derived from petroleum. Sulfates are carcinogens. Octinoxate is also an endocrine disruptor.

    So in short, you couldn’t pay me to use any of these products. Anything you put on your skin is absorbed into your blood stream within 26 seconds. Recent research also tested cord blood from newborns. A staggering number revealed some very scary toxins within the cord blood.

  9. cristina

    I used obagi for 3 weeks I had a lot of pimples came out..I bought this obagi online in ebay..Do I need to stop using it???

    • Crystal

      when i first started, my skin was itchy, dry, peeling & looked like my fine lines were getting worse. When i went back in for my follow up appointment with my dermatologist, I learned these symptoms are supposed to happen! The receptionist had me sign up for a program on Obagi NuDerm and sure enough, I received the email that said all these symptoms are expected. I looked at the brochure that came with the system (it was hiding under the plastic) and lo and behold the entire description of the “program” is listed in there!

      I’ve been using Obagi now for 4 months and I love how much my freckles have faded. My skin is brighter overall too. My derm has something called a reveal camera and she took a picture before i started. I have lots of sun damage from all the years of not using any sunscreen. I highly recommend this system for anyone seriously commited to removing the sun damage. I don’t know if I would risk not buying it from a dr. as this system is really expensive and since I only have one face, the $ savings buying it online (expired/ fake?) isn’t worth it to me.

  10. Catherine

    I have been using the Obagi Nu Derm for a week now. Very red, almost like I’ve been sunburnt and very sore. Peeling and redness started after day 3. When does it subside or does it vary from person?

  11. Kristina

    I wouldn’t recommend this product to anyone!!!! I started using this product because of a little bit of sun damage I had on my skin. Now and then I had a pimple on my skin but I bought it to make the sun damage on my skin less. I bought the Obagi Skin Health kit II this includes: Ossential Growth Factor Serum Plus, Ossential Daily Power Defense,Offects Exfoliating Cleanser, Oclipse Sunscreen + Primer SPF 30, Offects Exfoliating Polish. I started using it and after two weeks my whole skin was covered with pimples and when I went to my skin therapist she said it was normal and that I had to continue using it because it would only be like this in the first 4 weeks. So I continued. After 6 weeks it was still the same.. After 8 weeks I noticed my pores were clogging on one side of my face so I went to the skin therapist and she told me I had to buy the TE pads for acne and so I did, because thats were it turned into! Cystic Acne! It didn’t help at all and when I noticed my other side of my face getting clogged pores and getting bumpy I quit. I used it for 3 months and this was the biggest mistake I’ve ever made! This is 4 weeks ago and my skin is still covered with acne and deep scars and dark spots. I wonder if I will ever get my normal smooth skin back. When my skin therapist called Obagi about this they atmitted that this happens more often. So please be carefull and do not make the same mistake as I did. Thank you Obagi for turning my life into hell!

    • Anonymous

      It made very interesting read to see your comments. Im starting Obagi treatments next month for pigmentation marks. This was recommended by a dermatologist I saw at a clinic. I left feeling rather optimistic, but am having doubts having read so many negative reviews. My question to you is: were you prescribed these products by a specialist or did you buy them based on what you read about Obagi?

  12. pakeeza

    I used to suffer from occasional acne(one or two acne at a time). I wanted a complete cure so Obaji clenziderm was suggested by a salon I visited. I have to say I had the most horrible experience not only with the product but with Obajis customer service as well. within using the skin care system for 2 weeks i felt my skin was getting itchy and tight all over. i complained to the salon and they said thats normal and i must continue using it for atleast 3 months. 3rd week i couldnt tolerate the pain on my face so i stopped. I had acne all over my face now. and now it wasnt just acne … it was much deeper. I emailed obagi for a refund or an exchange but no consideration. salon owner refused to give me any exchange as the products were used . i suffered with cystic acne for the whole year. i used alot of plant based products. took antibiotics. my cystic acne stopped but my marks got deeper with time. this was back in 2009. I have been getting so many treatments on my face including chemical peels, hydroquinone creams, dermabrasion, fraxel… so much money spent only to get rid of my marks and they are still there as melasma now. I will be uploading my before and after pics on youtube and all the details of what i went through over the years. I would never suggest this product to anyone. it will tighten your pores and cause more acne & damage to the skin. worst experience with their customer service. I wish i didnt have to deal with so much trauma to my skin only because of obaji.

    • M Peters

      Reading responses about Obagi, I feel I need to voice an opinion and thoughts. First of all purchasing this product through a salon? I would not recommend. It needs to be used under a good doctor’s supervision. This line has been prescribed to me by two leading plastic surgeons in conjunction with Retin-A. The first surgeon located in Manhattan back in 1999, the second in Hackensack, NJ in 2015. Nothing has changed! But my new doctor cautioned about not using the bleaching agents for more than 4 continuous months due to their tendency to thin the skin. Yes it is true that there will be redness, peeling. Use some sense. Stop using the product for a day or two and then continue. It is an expected result of the skin renewal. But I will tell you that the serious age spots that had developed (because I had stopped using the skin care) are dissappearing and people are constantly complementing me on my beautiful skin. I have a tendency to break out even here in my 60’s, so I sometimes dab on a bit of Neutragena acne med on a blemish durectly to take care of it. The secret to the line as you use it is HYDRATION. Getting though the initial 6 week period is worth every day of looking a bit irritated.

  13. Amy

    I used Obagi before I got pregnant and was told I shouldn’t use it during pregnancy or nursing. Recently I stop nursing and decide to use Obagi again. It has been a while since I use them and I really love the new moisturizer, Hydrate Luxe. My skin used to get red and peeled for weeks before it builds resistant to it. And with the new moisturizer, my skin doesn’t get red and does not peel at all! I apply Hydrate Luxe in the morning after #4 and before sunscreen and at night after #5. On the days I forgot to use Hydrate Luxe, my skin peels again. But as long as I use them every day, I don’t peel and I don’t get red. I don’t know why it took them so many years to come up with a moisturizer that works with Obagi Nu-Derm. But I am glad they did. And my friend introduce me to this website TrueBeauty.com where you can always get 10% off by entering discount code member10. I ordered couple times from them, so far I am pleased with their products and service.

  14. Marissa Miller

    I started using Obagi a month ago. It was recommended for my pigmentation or sun damage. My skin has become extremely dry and seems the fine lines are worse. I stopped using it.

  15. brooke

    I have used Obagi Nu Derm for over 10 years, If you are starting out for the very first time, just start slowly. You don’t have to use the Retin A /blender every night when you first start. Give your skin a chance to get used to it. Also, use less Retin A in your blender mix at first. I know people that jumped right in and eventually quit because their face was so raw. If your face starts getting irritated back off a little on the exfoderm and retin A and then increase them slowly. I would never be without Obagi in my life!

  16. Sandy

    I have been using Obagi for about three years. At first, my skin peeled and was very red and painful. And my wrinkles looked worse! but you have to continue. I promise you it is worth it in the end. Now my skin is clearer, no age spots and my wrinkles are better. People comment all of the time on how great my skin looks. I have stopped for short periods of time and the age spots come back but that is all. It is the best thing I have ever used on my skin. You have to be willing to get through the horrible first 6 weeks though. It is worth it!

    • Sally

      When you say you stopped for short periods then sun spots came back, do you mean you stopped using all the products and started using other brands, or do you mean you just stopped the active ingredients products? I order to maintain what products must you continuously use? Thank you.

  17. Hend

    Hi all, ive been using the clear and complex a for a 3 months aprix. The results are amazing , so i decided to google what should i do then ? I was shocked that people after stopping using obagy products things the skin gets worse am really depressed i cant even enjoy the improvement that happened to my skin now , please of someone used obagi and stopped it for a time tell me what happens

  18. gablesgirl

    I have tried everything for melasma. I live in Florida and despite very aggressive treatments and lasers I had no results. Obagi has reduced my melasma in two months. It is very harsh at first but keep it up. I have people stopping me and asking about my skin and now look considerably younger than friends my age. It is a miracle product.

  19. Janice

    I’ve looked at several reviews and although I’m not using the product yet I wanted to share regarding my sister who has used it for a few years now. She recently turned 60 yrs old and I currently in the hospital. She’s the talk among all staff because of how beautiful her skin looks. Many have asked what she’s using. Her face has a beautiful glow, wrinkles softened and her pores which used to be very large are not visible anymore unless you get really close to examine her skin and even then they are now very small. She swears by this product and I have to say I agree from seeing the results. She has told me at the start you will break out as your skin is being purified but encouraged me when I start to be patient and stick with it.

  20. Heather

    I like the Obagi vitamin C serum a lot. It helps to defend against the signs of aging. It provides antioxidant protection with deep penetration into the dermal layer. It also provides free radical protection. I had come to know about it while reading some Obagi reviews. When I read the reviews of Obagi products, I came to know that Obagi Nu Derm is also effective on large pores. You can say goodbye to large pores with Obagi. Some women complain that after using these products, they had acne issues but it works fine for me.

  21. Anonymous

    I just started using obagi about 7 days ago and after third day . I notice my skin in the T zone breaking out in blemishes and turning red with small red pimples , it also look old and wrinkled oppose to not prior to having wrinkles . It’s all dried out. I am afraid to continue using it. Although I have not stop using it yet . I guess I will play it by air. I think the company should let yo know what’s normal or what to expect.

    • Nicole

      Hi. When I started obagi un derm 8 weeks ago, my skin was so red and peeling and felt quite sore, I also thought about discontinuing. I stuck with it and after about two weeks the redness and peeling started to decrease. I used no. 4. Every other day for first two weeks. I did not like to use too much make up at that point as my skin was too flakey. I just kept moisturising with no. 6 throughout the day. Although now at 8 weeks my skin has adjusted to the product I can only notice a vague improvement with some wrinkles looking slightly better. I will stick with the 18 week course and see the overall results. I must say though that my old regime of Simple vitamin face wash, followed by apricot kernel oil into damp skin, pat dry and a good moisturiser like Nivea were so far just as good.

  22. Hope

    Just purchased the obagi nu derm clears started kit. I have not spend much on skin care products and very excited to see this work. My dermatologist will not perform laser until after I have been using this product for 2 weeks. I am having laser done to clear acne but there is too much irritation for him to do anything so he will reassess my skin in 2 weeks.

  23. Cathy

    I buy all my Obagi products from a plastic surgeon’s office. I used the C for 5 weeks with wonderful tone smoothing results. Then I added Trenitoin .1% and used it sparingly for 4 weeks. My lips became so dry and tight that I couldn’t stand it. I exfoliated the dry skin off my lips and the next day I had a tremendous allergic reaction with swollen, red, peeling, painful lips for a full week. My skin looks great but it’s not worth the lip pain. I still use the gentle cleanser, the C and the hydrate. My skin care consultant says allergic reactions are every rare but 6 weeks later my lips still haven’t healed.

  24. Yvonne

    I have been using Obagi Nu Derm with tretinion for 8 weeks now, my skin is still very red and its peeling like a snake. I teach group fitness and at the end of every class my face is even redder and stings due to the sweat and heat(nasty). I have been assured by my physician that this reaction is normal but i look and feel very unattractive. I recently turn 50 so i decided to change my skincare as the wrinkles and age spots were unaffected by over the counter (expensive) products. i am still hopeful that at the end of the15 week program i will have fresher brighter looking skin so i’m hanging in there as the bits of my face that aren’t red or flaking do so signs of improvement.

    • julie

      I’m wondering how you are doing? I used the product for the first time 2 weeks ago and had a horrible reaction… Red, raw, oozing swollen skin from my nose down. Happened on the third day… Stopped using product so skin could heal. Re-started minus the retin A on previously damaged area once it was healed…. Same thing happened again. The med spa said no patient in their office has ever had this reaction. I don’t see how I can continue use… I am so bummed- turning 50 in June and wanted to step up the quality of my skin….. In the past I have always used natural products- I think this was just too aggressive for me… Thinking about other options that will get me great results without this horrible reaction…

      • Lee-Ann

        I’m having the same problem Julie as well skin breakouts whenever I use the product. It was horrible and I also have only used natural products in the past. When I did the 2 week consult at the clinic they seemed to think everything was ok and then the next week it got worse even with less use of the product in only a small area of my forehead where my melasma was. When I talked to the clinic about the reaction I was having all over my face and especially along my cheeks under my eyes and that I was very concerned and wanted to return the products they told me I had to come into see them and would not comment on return. The soonest I was able to get in was a few weeks from then so as per the product instructions I stopped using them. Once my skin was healed I tried one application to see how my skin reacted as they told me it never happens and it doesn’t cause breakouts and sure enough my skin flared up again. Today I went in for my consult and they told me it never happens and that I should have taken pictures because they needed them for OZ and they weren’t sure what to do without them. Yet no one asked me to do that. They are apparently calling OZ today to see if they can do a return but are unsure. $600 – $800 worth of product that made skin horrific and “might” be able to return the product!!! If anyone reads this – please send me positive energy for a return on these products. I hope OZ is a compassionate company that stands by their clients enough to provide a return when there is a major reaction.

  25. Vick

    Obagi Skin Care scheme works very well. It is very productive in correcting pigment issues, laxity of the skin, lines, wrinkles, pore dimensions as well as over all quality of the skin. Excellent to precondition the skin former to surgical and nonsurgical methods and enhance the results of Botox or fillers.

  26. Sherry

    I am 63 and have lived in Florida for most of my life and yes I have skin damage! I started using Obagi about 9 years ago and like many others who have commented it started out ruff. My face got red, peeled and had blemishes but after 6 weeks my skin settled down and my skin started looking great. Over time my color all blended and my brown spots faded. I get compliments all the time on my complexion and do look 10 years younger than I really am and that is good because my husband is 11 years younger:) I give myself regular facials, about every three months a citrus peel and stay out of the full sun as much as possible. You have to give the product time to work and if you do you will not be disappointed.

  27. Omayra

    I have been using Obagi Nuderm since 2006 the first few days of used I was very sensitive to the tretinoin cream which is like Retin A but my physician told me to use it every other day till my skin gets used to it and it did. You have to give your face time to get used to the products as they are very potent, believe me I was very hesitant at first to continue use cause I also started to breakout but I stuck with it and afterwards the sun damage I had was gone, my pores were very small and my skin is extremely smooth. I love Obagi and I don’t care what anybody says I stand by it. For those of you that had problems maybe you just didn’t give it enough time to work plus you must work with your physician to make sure everything is going the way it should.

  28. Lory

    I was first skeptical when I bought The Nu Derm system by Obagi but after a few months I noticed that my skin was clearer and my pore size was smaller. I still have blackheads and whiteheads but I can definitely see a big difference in my skin when I look in the mirror. My husband is also using it and his skin is looking great. He says he cant tell but I can tell.

  29. KEVINA

    I started using Obagi Nu-DERM Line 2 months ago but i am not seeing any improvement. Instead my face is breaking out so much. I don’t know weather i should stop or give it a couple months.

  30. Sandra

    I have been using Obagi skin care products for several months now but have seen no visible improvement in my skin. I find them to be a little irritating and I need a stronger moisturizer. My Obagi experience has not been great and I will be trying something now instead.

  31. Natalie

    I used Obagi Nu Derm for the first time last night and I woke up with a rash this morning. I will avoid this product and try to return it in the morning. I was recommended this by my physician who was fully aware that I had sensitive skin so I will be looking for somewhere else to go now.

  32. Leanne

    I know you are wondering if spending a few hundred dollars on a face wash, cream and peel is worth it but I have been using Obagi for years and it has really worked well for my skin. I love the Obagi range and it isnt great for sensitive skin because I know a friend who cant tolerate their products but they are potent but I prefer to use something that works rather than just a moisturizer you can buy from the local store.

  33. Hilda

    I received so many compliments on my face since I started using Obagi Nu Derm last month. This is the best skin care range I have come across and I will recommend Obagi to my friends. The product isnt as expensive as creams in department stores and many dermatologists use Obagi.

  34. Hannah

    I found Obagi skin care to be quite irritating for the first two days but you just need to keep using it and let your skin warm up and eventually that irritation will disappear and your skin will be just fine. I use a few products but I found their sunblock to cause my breakouts so I stop using it. Nu Derm Is definitely the best cleanser and cream I have bought.

  35. Martina

    I love Obagibagi Nu-Derm Foaming Gel, Obagi Nu-Derm Toner, Obagi Professional-C Serum 15% Strength, Obagi ELASTIderm Eye Treatment Cream and Obagi Hydrate Facial Moisturizer. I have very dry skin so I need an intensive cream and strict skin care routine or my skin gets flakey. I started to use Obagi one year ago and my skin feels much better.

  36. Renata

    Ive been using obagi for 5 years and absolutely love them, ive tried other products just for the sake of it and to make it easier to buy them and I always end up going back to them ,although I don’t have a problem with sun damage or deep wrinkles ,they make my skin look fresh, even and takes the red off.

  37. Erin

    I was wondering if you know where you can buy genuine Obagi products from the internet. There are quite a few products in the Obagi range that I would like to buy, including the i Nu Derm System and their vitamin c serum.

  38. Pink

    obagi tretinoin cream works better then most retinol creams but it is quite powerful that you want to avoid using it everyday. Make sure you are using it in combination with obagi nuderm and other skin care products recommended by your physician. I bought a starter kit before and the only product I didn’t like is the obagi clenziderm. Hope this helps.

Write a Review

Rating