Ultherapy Reviews

Ultherapy is a new FDA-approved procedure that claims to lift, tighten and tone skin. The treatment is indicated for lifting the eyebrow and lifting lax submental (beneath the chin) and neck tissue.  The cost of Ultherapy is between $3000-$5000 and most people need 3 treatments. However, follow up treatments are recommended every 12 months to maintain results.

The procedure is non invasive and requires no anesthetic or sedation. However, the procedure is painful and some physicians recommend local anesthetic. Ultherapy is a skin tightening device and the technology competes with Solta Thermage, Syneron Refirm and Cutera Titan. Ultherapy is commonly administered on the brow, neck, and under the chin but it can be performed almost anywhere where there is skin laxity. Ultherapy claims “there’s no downtime, no foreign substances, no radical change; just a healthy revving-up on the inside for a natural, noticeable effect on the outside.” As part of our Ultherapy review, I underwent three treatments. I observed a subtle lifting effecting 3 months after 3 treatments. The cost of each Ultherapy treatment is comparable to Thermage and 2-3 times the price of Refirm and Thermage. The results were comparable to Thermage, Refirm and Titan. Ultherapy results were not comparable to injectables or surgery.

Ultherapy works differently to conventional lasers that target the outer layers on the skin.  Ultherapy bypasses the surface of the skin and delivers energy to the deepest layers of the skin. In a nutshell, it causes damage to the collagen layers of the skin and this in turn regulates new collagen.  The procedure uses Ultrasound technology which has been used for the last decade in fat burning devices. The best use for Ultherapy is as a non surgical brow lift. Ultherapy lifts the brows and opens up the eyes.

Ultherapy penetrates the deepest layer of the dermis, sending ultrasound frequency that promotes collagen production. Ultherapyis causes pockets of damage by heating the deep layers of the skin, which stimulates collagen production. If you are considering having Ultherapy, it is recommended that you consult the pre treatment instructions.  Ultherapy is contraindicated for the use in patients with open lessions or wounds, cystic acne, existing keloid scarring, mechanical implants, dermal implants, implanted electrical devices, metal implants in the face and anticoagulant treatment plan, pregnant or breast-feeding women.

Ultherapyis side effects include mild to moderate redness and swelling, discomfort, bruising, nerve damage and scarring. Ultherapy is a non surgical procedure, however, you should anticipate 2-3 days of downtime. You could return to work immediately, however, your skin will look slightly irritated, swollen and red. This should subside within a few days. It is strongly advisable to wear sunblock anytime you go into the sun and religiously after the procedure.

Before the treatment begins, the physician marks the area to be treated with a pen. A full face treatment took just over an hour. A full face treatment can take anywhere from 45 to 60 minutes. With topical anesthetic, you will experience discomfort. Without, Ultherapyis can be reasonable painful, particularly towards the end of the treatment. Ultherapy has been featured on Home and Family, Extral, The View, New You, Prevention, NewBeauty, Details, W Magazine and various international programs.

A handful of notable plastic surgeons, cosmetic surgeons and dermatologists offer Ultherapy, including Lancer Dermatology, Rodeo Drive Dermatology and Aesthetics, Leaf MD, Wave Plastic Surgery Center, The Center for Advanced Facial Plastic Surgery, Rebecca Fitzgerald Dermatology, Mudgil Dermatology, Grace Dermatology, New York Dermatology Group, Union Square Dermatology Group, Bostom Dermatology and Laser Center, Boston Cosmetic Surgery Center, Fox and Schingo Plastic Surgery and Dermatology Associates of Huntington.

References
Third party resources are provided for educational reference purposes only and have no association to The Derm Review. Always consult your medical advisor before making decisions.
 References for this article include a Ultherapy provider and Ulthera corporate.

Top Products 2014

 

Comments

  1. rabbitrant

    This procedure may ruin your life. It certainly won’t make you happy so don’t do it. I don’t know how it is O.K to lie to vulnerable people but i learned my lesson. The best result will be nothing. Because any change it makes to your face will be detrimental. Your face is naturally symmetrical. You age almost symmetrically which means that although you look older, you have the same character, the same look. This device interferes with your face in a very haphazard way, and maybe it does stimulate collagen (or melts fat) but what it does it does not do symmetrically. So your face will just not look right anymore. symmetry is one of the keys to an attractive face old or young, so don’t risk your face as i did with this nonsense..

  2. Sascha

    Based on Ultratherapy reviews, my aunt went ahead for the procedure. In spite of spending a huge amount of money, we have not seen a major difference in her brows. In fact, I think they used to look much better before the surgery. I think it did not suit her. She doesn’t know if she should get another sitting after twelve months. Please advise….

    • BEVERLY HILLS

      I PAID $6000. FOR THE TREATMENT AND AT MY PRE SURGERY MEETING I TOLD HIM THAT I NEEDED TO ELIMINATE THE COST OF BOTOX..THE DR. STATED THAT THE ULTHERAPY WOULD HELP THE AREA AROUND MY NECK, LIPS, AND AN EYE THAT I HAD WANTED LIFTED…BOTTOMLINE..TWO WEEKS AFTER HAVING THE TREATMENT MY FOREHEAD NEEDED BOTOX AND MY EYE WAS NOT CORRECTED AS THE DOCTOR HAD STATED IT WOULD BE OK…THE LINES AROUND MY MOUTH ARE MORE PROMINENT THEN BEFORE THE TREATMENT…THE DR.SUGGESTED ANOTHER TREATMENT AND QUITE FRANKLY, I AM AFRAID TO RUIN MY SKIN …THE DOWNTIME IS THE SAME AS PLASTIC SURGERY AND I ADVISE AGAINST THIS PROCEDURE AND WILL OPT FOR PLASTIC SURGERY.

  3. Paige

    Ultratherapy reviews will tell you the truth about lifting procedures. It is pretty expensive and will definitely cause some pain. But people who have undergone Ultratherapy ageing neck have claimed that it was effective. Although the results of Ultratherapy will not be visible overnight, you’ll have to wait for a couple of months or even more. But the changes will be visible and they will be substantial.

    • anonymous

      PLEASE – do not have Ultherapy done! I got a 2- degree burn and lifetime scar on my face.
      Read the small print. It says “may cause……..”

  4. suzanne

    I can’t afford a lift so thought I would try ultherapy. I spent $600 for the jaw area. It was definitely uncomfortable during procedure but not enough whereby I couldn’t stand another round. It has been 3 months and there is definitely an improvement. Very subtle but well worth it!!! It was NEVER meant to offer dramatic results so stop complaining. I intend to go and have my eye area done next.

  5. Ria smith

    I did ultherapy about two months ago. Seriously no results and sometimes I feel I look worse then before. Goal waste of money.

  6. Danny

    Two weeks after treatment. My skin is healing. I can see some tightening. Nothing drastic. I have been looking into laser treatments for a few years done and has this because of all the positive reviews. It was painful but no pain no gain. I hope results are worth the money I paid. Those of you who have been doing research would know that Ultherapy treatments are very expensive. I don’t want perfect skin but I would love to see a 50% improvement overall.

  7. Patty Simpson

    51 y/o and I had ultherapy on face and neck. Very painful, swollen face post procedure. Minimum results after 3.5 months. Waste of a lot of money in my opinion. Amazing how physicians will sell you this procedure with a straight face.

  8. mamx4

    I had Ultherapy on my neck about 6 weeks ago and developed significant bruising and discomfort. After about a week, I noticed a “lump” feeling in my throat that just won’t go away and actually causes a little difficulty swallowing food. Could I have developed scar tissue deeper in my neck from the Ultherapy? I am a little unsure about how to proceed. Should i wait longer to see if it goes away?

  9. I am 42 years old, & not ready to go under the knife on my fasces for an eyebrow lift. I just had the procedure about 2 hours ago – above & below my eyes. I have had laser360 few times, so I was expecting it to feel similar. It was more painful, mainly above the eyes over the eyebrow bone. When she started above my eyes, it hurt my temples. I felt like I was starting to get a really bad headache. It was tolerable, I just kept taking deep breaths to relax. It is a bit sore around my eyes. If it works I will go back and get my neck done. I have to wait for about a month or so to see results.

  10. ray

    I had Ultherapy on my brows a week ago and I thought was extremely uncomfortable. I still have pain on my scalp. Has any one experienced this? I have not noticed any thing remarkable to my brows yet.

  11. Donna

    I just got Ultherapy done today. I had read about it, and was ready for it. Presently, I have some swelling under my neck and above my lips. It was somewhat painful, but fine. I do not notice any results yet, but am hopeful. I am 52…and if I can see some positive results within the next 2-3 months, I will be very happy. I do recommend this procedure, I did some comparing of prices in the USA and Canada, and since I am on vacation in Mexico, I decided to do this here. The price for the full face & neck cost me $2100.00 canadian…well worth it.
    Will keep you all posted, as time goes on. Good Luck to All..!!

  12. Suzanna

    I had Ultherapy done 4 days ago on my whole face. The skin felt uncomfortable during the procedure and the next day. The day after that my skin was all. Redness lasted about a week but that got better by the next week.

  13. Agnes

    Hi Laurie,

    I am about to have Ultherapy, am 71 years old and thinking that maybe this treatment works better the younger you are as there is the more collagen to revive?

  14. Leslie

    I am 47 years old, andI had ultherapy on my lower face and neck December 10, 2013. I was mildly red one day later, and a tiny bit swollen. I experienced numbness which dissipated within a week’s time, except for a spot beneath my chin. I still have some minor numbness and tenderness, which is improving daily. I had no bruising. I can see an improvement in skin texture and firmness already. I have had several friends ask “what are you using on your skin? It looks great!”. I was sedated for treatment, so cannot speak to the painfulness of the procedure in process. I am (so far) pleased with the results.

  15. Merry

    I completely agree with Laurie. I had full face, lips and around eyes over a month ago. Absolutely NO results other than I still have apin all around my face. Hurts to touch my face. I am so sorry that I wasted $3,600 for nothing. I guess all is takes is money to adverstise on Dr. Oz.and the rest of the shows that highly promoted Ultherapy. Shame on me for falling for it. Rebooked my appointment with the palstic surgeon.

  16. Cameron E.

    I have looked at having a laser treatment for years.
    I am not only a little afraid, but I am also a little skeptical.
    I know many friends who have had laser surgery and found no improvement, and the ones who have had botox done just don’t look good.
    Has anybody here actually had Ultherapy done and seen a result?

  17. Daisy

    I was considering have Ultherapy until I read your review Laurie. Could it be just that the results are taking longer? How many treatments did you have done and when was the first one? Did you take a photo before and compare your skin to now?

  18. Laurie

    PLEASE – do not have Ultherapy done! I had it done to my entire face 4 months ago with absolutely no results to date except for painful, red burns on either side of my neck and numbness around my jawline! My doctor is well-known and well-respected, however there is some dangerous documentation on this procedure – please research it carefully!

    • Judy

      I too had Ultherapy in Oct 2013. I did the full face & neck. It took her 4 hours to do it. I was in so much PAIN I should have gotten up and walked out! Amazingly I just has slight bruising under my chin, and slight redness, but the pain felt like I was getting shock treatments! The electricity shooting thru my head was unbearable. The things we do for beauty! I had these bumps ( like cysts) under my skin that were like acne I’ve never had in my life! And they were painful! They couldn’t figure out why or what it was. I ended up calling the home office of Ulthera in Phoenix speaking to kelly out there. A lot of double talk. No answers. It is now Jan 31st 2014- over 90 days and see no results. Actually I see lines that weren’t there which really pisses me off.
      None of my friends have noticed a difference. I didn’t tell them. They said people will start telling you you look “FRESH” but that’s BS. I had to go to my dermatologist for those bumps( cysts). I’m not sure what that electric current stirred up on my skin, but it wasn’t collagen ! I would NOT recommend it. Waste of money!

      • Jane

        Thank you so much for taking the time to educate those of us who might want this procedure. It helped me a lot. You might think I’m crazy, but I’m going to have a LifeStyle Lift instead. I know LOTS of people have horror stories from that as well but the secret is to go to an office with a good surgeon. The ‘procedure’ is nothing if not done by the right doctor. The one in the Cleveland office is fantastic (I’ve seen many faces she’s done in person). She is retired from full time practice and now just “moonlights” with LSL. She used to work at the Cleveland Clinic in their PS dept. I’ve noticed that some LSL offices have doctors from third world countries and who don’t have very good academic pedigrees. Any thoughts? Wish me luck :)

      • karen

        Hi Judy- I am experiencing very adverse effects after ulthera. It’s been 3 months. I have nerve damage, loss of fat and healthy tissue, wrinkles I never had before. The list of problems goes on and on. My eyes, lips and mouth have been affected as well. Can you please phone me at 310-854-2384. I would love to speak to you or anyone else having negative side effects. I’ve been told that it could take 12 to 18 months for my to nerves regenerate. Please call me.

    • karen

      Hi Laurie, did the jawline numbness go away over time. I am experiencing problems with using my facial muscles as well. Please let me know.

    • joann smith

      I was looking for somebody who had the same as experience as I am. I had the procedure October 31 which was about a month ago and my face keeps turning bright red. In some places my face is so red it’s purple and it comes and goes. I also went to one of the top plastic surgeons in Beverly Hills and paid top dollar.

      • Anonymous

        Joann Smith
        I am 49 years old. I have had Thermage. it made a big difference. I am considering Ultherapy and will do my research well before I proceed. AS FOR THE PURPLE ON YOUR FACE THAT COMES AND GOES…be careful its not a menopause thing. In the last 12 months I experience literally red face and purple cheeks. it turns out I am allergic to foundation. I have to go on prednazone as soon as I notice the signs. Watch these reactions carefully and write down what products you have used on your face. I am considered a very attractive woman and have used make-up, including foundation my whole life so this “allergic reaction” comes as a huge surprise. Very frustrating but very real. I thought it was Botox. No. I thought it was something I was eating. No. Its foundation and it doesn’t matter if its allergy-free foundation, every kind of foundation is now reacting to my skin. Í just wanted to point this out as something to think about, detail your reactions on your face. You might be surprised to see its your makeup and not Ultherapy, I could be wrong but I bet you I’m not. D. Cameron Sept 5, 2014

  19. Jakayla

    I also went to a beautician who recommend Intense Pulsed Light and it made my pigmentation worse. I am now using Hydroquinone and it is slowly fixing this. Now I am doing my research reading reviews about Ultherapy, Thermage and Fraxel.

  20. Katherine T

    One morning I woke up and noticed I was starting to look like the photos of my grandmother. I went through a period of depression but my husband encouraged me to get something done. After a year of research I decided I am going to have Ultherapy done. It looks like the latest laser technology and much better than Thermage. The only thing I have had done before is IPL at my beautician. That was a waste of time.

  21. Claudette

    What an outstanding laser procedure. The results are far better than Thermage in my opinion. Havent tried the other procedures you mentioned and hopefully I wont have to. I do thing you need 3 Ultherapy procedures to see a noticeable difference – even if this is not what the physician is recommending. All in all Ultherapy is the best non invasive procedure for skin tightening.

  22. Simone

    I have tried all of the non surgical laser procedures you discuss above and considering have Ultherapy after seeing the session on Dr Oz. I will write a review after I have had the Ultherapy procedure and again after 3 and 6 months. Can I upload my photos on here as I would like to show you my before photos?

      • Lila

        Liana I’m 40 years old , I have lost over80 pounds . For about a year I have dream of the day i can put money together to give myself this gift ! I had a lot loose skin ., rinkles were more noticeable when I look at mirror my self confidence was not there no more ! Will I did ultherapy is been 56 days ( 3000) for neck chin cheaks and around eyes , doctor sey I didn’t really need forgead ! They give me to pills that day ( no pills next time itill painful) yes is painfull but for about 4 seconds like for times . When it was over my face look a little soulen and stay like this for 5 days then I notice a change on my face , fresh younger look . Love it but for second week I look just like before ultherapy I was so mad at myself for spending so much money on this . Will for the next 3 weeks I look at myself every day at mirror with no change at all’ but surprise surprise buy 54 day I notice a lift on my jaw area and on my neck even more . I looking forward for the next 3 months . I lost my hope for a bit but what I can tell you is if you do it to be patient with time . That it really works . And peaple will notice the change on your face is ther 2 time my boyfriend sey to me why you use makeup now at the gym( I’m no doing nothing deferent) I ask why you sey this he sey you look deferent and he sey to good for gym . Funny but there is my pruebe peaple notice

  23. Natala

    I just had a session of Ultherapy and writing this review because I found it comparable to Thermage and I thought that was good. There are many surgeons offering Ultherapy so make sure you find a reputable one as they all seem to charge similar rates. You absolutely need to take the next day off work because your face will look swollen unless you don’t mind people knowing you had this done.

    • Anonymous

      How old are you I want to get it done I had a partial fax lift 7 years ago now I have some minimal looseness around the jowls I am 62

  24. Fern

    Several months ago I began researching Ultherapy as an alternative to a facelift. I had two consultations with plastic surgeons and read hundreds of Ultherapy reviews. I was convinced this was better than Thermage, Fraxel and other lasers. I had the procedure done for a cost of $3,7000 in New York City. I spent the night in a hotel that cost $200 and with my bus tickets the total cost was just over $4000. I am happy with the results and it looks natural. My friends haven’t said anything and I prefer to keep it that way.

Leave a Reply